Fanbox.com = sms.ac = Same Old Crap
A couple of weeks ago I started getting a few emails from Fanbox.com, which is supposed to be a virtual desktop that you access through a browser. Here’s the email text:
Karen asked you a question. View the question(LINK REMOVED) and answer it.
FanBox.com is the web-based desktop that instantly turns every computer into your computer. It includes over 10,000 web applications and games to choose from, including the Question It application.
This email was sent by Karen while using the Question It application on FanBox. Go here(LINK REMOVED) to learn more or stop receiving emails from friends using Question It. FanBox: 255 G Street #723, San Diego, CA 92101, USA
I’m not an anti-spam nut. I don’t go nuts every time something that’s trying to get me to sign up or sell me something comes into my inbox. What I do expect though is a way for me to say don’t send this stuff to me anymore. And this fails miserably at that. Notice the link for unsubscribing isn’t an unsubscribe link. It says go here to find out how to stop receiving emails. I assumed there’d be an attempt to get me to stay with them, but that wasn’t it at all. Instead the page simply wont load. It keeps saying we are preparing your Fanbox experience. I don’t want a fucking fanbox experience. That’s why I clicked the link to remove myself from it.
Astonishingly the page where you can go and answer the question loads pretty much immediately.
I keep seeing sms.ac links, and remember that the company had the same kind of issues. To have the same kind of issues twice means they no longer get the benefit of the doubt like plaxo, who had problems with email notifications, but cleaned their act up(By the way I love Plaxo now).
It is disappointing, cause it seemed like a while back they hit on a good idea, where they were going to create an international payment system for mobile application developers. I guess that out the window now as sms(dot)ac redirects to fanbox(dot)com.
I’ve found only 2 people talking about this on the net Here and Here. Steve Riley suggest blocking the domains on your email black lists.
You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.
March 19th, 2008 at 7:28 am
[…] dont know if he should. This is the same company as sms.ac. They’ve already been through this before. I believe they knew exactly what they were doing, and decided to go ahead and do it anyway. You […]
June 27th, 2008 at 12:06 pm
I at first thought the Spam from them was a trick to get personal info from me. I stayed away for about a year.
Two days ago I joined up after landing on the page from a Google search (BTW, thats how I discovered this page).
I like the application to a point. It has some purpose, but the reaction time from when I click is lengthy, similiar to Facebook.com. Slow sites aggravate me greatly.